Best Bagged Clay For Throwing...currently Use Amaco 38

leslieponder

Hi,

I've been using Amaco 38 for about two years but...I'm just thinking there has to be a softer solution.  Yes, I wedge.  The bag has not been sitting for long at all.  So, I'm looking to others for some guidance.   

I can center and pull fine but, I have to use more force than others in videos that I watch.  I cone up and down normally to center and then use another strategy to make sure it's truly center.  However, coning seems to take so much work and I see others doing it and its like they are playing with play dough.

I want to do this for a long time because I love it...but, something has to give.  

Thanks,

Leslie

Hi,

I've been using Amaco 38 for about two years but...I'm just thinking there has to be a softer solution.  Yes, I wedge.  The bag has not been sitting for long at all.  So, I'm looking to others for some guidance.   

I can center and pull fine but, I have to use more force than others in videos that I watch.  I cone up and down normally to center and then use another strategy to make sure it's truly center.  However, coning seems to take so much work and I see others doing it and its like they are playing with play dough.

I want to do this for a long time because I love it...but, something has to give.  

Thanks,

Leslie

I use B-Mix which is pretty soft, but finicky and prone to cracking. My Speckled Buff from Laguna is fabulous and so soft it's super easy to flop a pot just because you over corrected, otherwise it's a very cooperative and pleasant clay to throw. 

It is possible that you're comparing yourself to someone with so much more experience. I have been throwing for two years and I look at potters with twenty years of experience and the clay looks almost liquid in their hands. I think I just have a lot to learn.