Total Beginner Fascinated With This Effect

Thanks a lot for the quick replies.

It's a very nice technique indeed...maybe I can use some of my cake design skills for pottery as well.

Now..would you add the bulgy dots while the main body of clay (in this case the mug) is still soft or does it

have to be leather hard? any recommendations?

thanks

Thanks a lot for the quick replies.

It's a very nice technique indeed...maybe I can use some of my cake design skills for pottery as well.

Now..would you add the bulgy dots while the main body of clay (in this case the mug) is still soft or does it

have to be leather hard? any recommendations?

thanks

If you go on Periscope, Symmetrical Pottery broadcasts there sometimes. They are the artists who make these cups. 

In my personal opinion, it is all done with slip trailing. In the case of the largest thickest spikes my guess would be extremely thick slip in an applicator with a large nozzle. 

I definitely think that cake decorating skills will carry over to slip trailing! Another potter that uses cake decorating on their pottery is jampdx. They have a great Instagram account and they are also active on Periscope. 

I do a lot of slip trailing and in my experience the piece needs to be dry enough that is firm and does not distort with handling, but damp enough that the slip bonds properly with the piece and becomes one with it as it dries. If the piece has started to turn "white" with dryness when you slip trail, often the slip designs will flake or crack off either before or after firing. 

last semester i did a lot of slip trailing. we had two kind of slip. one esp. designed to create high surfaces (so darvant and less water) and the other to be brushed on so too liquid to slip trail.