Glaze Leeching

pritchpat

Help please.

I've been using Mayco glazes and have been very pleased with most of the results, but I have been having a few pieces crazing when using some Elements so I raised the temperature from 1050 to 1060 as I'm new to firing my own pieces and I had no real idea what would help and thought I would give it a go.

At the same time with some of the pieces I was using a new stoneware clay which this temperate firing range fell into.

I glazed nearly all of the pieces with Stroke & Coat as part of the design some had the addition of Elements and Clear Cascades which in the past I have had success. I then fired these pieces to cone 06.

All but a couple of the pieces have what I can only describe as a damp bottom and the piece with the most design i.e. Elements and Clear Cascade crazed horridly and is now weeping everywhere.  I can't see any visible cracks to the inside of any of the pieces all but a couple are glazed with Stroke & Coat.

So my question is would raising the temperature have caused this or could there be another explanation?

I live in Turkey so am using clay which I'm sure nobody has ever heard of so cannot compare to anything. 

Thank you

P

Hi Pritchpat and welcome.

I wouldn't call what is happening to your pots leaching but rather you have an underfired claybody. Does your clay supplier say what the firing range is for this clay?

Even if the glaze looks uncrazed there are going to be microscopic voids in it that allow water into the clay. If you are making functional pots I would fire a few unglazed flat bottomed pieces, scatter them throughout the kiln to allow for firing differences, then fill them with water and place on newspaper for a few days. If the paper gets wrinkled or wet then the clay isn't mature. 

Leaching is when the glaze itself leaches out metals or other minerals. What you're referring to is weeping. They are two very different issues.