New Teacher ..help!

Hello

I am an artist without a ceramics background.I did dabble in throwing and building in college...hmmmm that was in 1978 ha ha.

so not I am asked to teach ceramics to a group of students grades 7-9 (classes will be mixed) there will be 8-16 students in the class. I have two wheels , one a kick one electric and one big scary kiln ha ha.

I have learned so much from reading this site.

however I have questions.

I only have one class for 8 weeks so just 8 classes.

what would be a great project for those 8 weeks ? or should I do more than one ?opinions?

What do i absolutely need to have  on hand in the studio ? and what suggestions does anyone have for a first time ceramics studio teacher with not much knowledge in the subject?

Thanks so much to everyone in advance. This is an amazing site.

peace

in other words, please condense your entire pottery education into an answer i can assimilate in the time it takes to read it.  

you have a very large mountain in front of you.  good luck with that.

this is the busiest time of the year for most potters who sell their work, maybe some of the teachers can recommend a syllabus.