New To Ceramics- Trying To Buy Used Kiln

Hello, I am new to ceramics. I have made coil and slab pieces during high school art class, but that's it. I think I know the basics of making pieces, but I'm not sure how the whole firing process goes. I have found a used Skutt kiln for sale. Model LT-3K, three tier, new shut off tube assembly, inside 1/2 selves, on roll cart, and vents to outside for $700. Does this sound like a deal to anyone? What should I look out for when purchasing a used kiln?

Also, I need all the start up tools. I think I would like to purchase a wheel to make cups, bowls, plates, mugs, and vases. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Here is a recent thread on buying supplies --

http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/14903-supplies-to-buy-when-buying-a-first-wheel/

On the kiln, LT-3K may be the model of the kiln sitter, not the kiln. Dawson makes a LT-3K kiln sitter. The kiln should have a face plate that shows manufacturer, model number, electrical info on amps/volts, serial number, and date it was manufactured. There are a lot of considerations besides price -- they cover the condition of the used kiln and whether that kiln can work in your house (right wiring, location, etc.). We can offer better advice on the kiln if you could post a couple of pictures -- exterior, control box, interior.

Here is a recent thread on buying a used kiln --

http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/14166-need-advice-on-buying-a-used-kiln/?hl=%2Bused+%2Bkilns&do=findComment&comment=105818

Yeah, LT-# is the switch pt#, not the kiln. I think almost everyone has used that switch at some point.

That kiln looks like it's the older version of this one: http://www.bigceramicstore.com/skutt-ks1227-3-and-km1227-3.html

It's the "bigger standard"  manual Skutt. I could be wrong but I believe the 1227 is Skutt's biggest all-time seller.