Can I Get Away Without A Test Kiln?

Saki

I am a hobby potter who is just starting to experiment with mixing glazes. So far, I have included my test tiles in my regular firings (∆6. However, because I am not a production potter, I don't have enough work to fire a full kiln as often as I would like test glazes.

So I am debating whether to buy a test kiln or to fire test tiles in my large kiln (skutt 1027) without a full load of work. I realize that firing the large kiln is more expensive per firing, but I don't really see myself testing glazes frequently enough to justify purchasing another kiln. 

If I fire the test tiles in the large kiln, would it be terrible for the elements, thermocouple, or other parts of the kiln to fire without a full load? Will I damage the kiln or shorten its useful life?

I know of no harm in firing an empty kiln. I might add a few shelves; I have found single probe kilns fire better when there is a shelf above the thermocouple. You could also start making large bowls! They take up huge amounts of space and sell pretty easily too.

The math: including wear of elements and electricity, your kiln costs about $20-30 to fire. A test kiln should be ~$5? So... maybe a $25 difference.

Conclusion: I would just continue using one kiln until a good cheap test kiln came up on craigslist.

I agree with Matthew. Maybe the idea of filling a kiln with shelves rather than pots will inspire you to make more pieces. You could practice throwing tooth pick holders or other small objects and use them as test pieces too. You can fire a very spacious kiln with test tiles but as Matthew says you need to occupy the space with something to get good results in firing.

Marcia

Thank you both! I can definitely add kiln posts and shelves, and the suggestion to use large bowls is a great excuse to work on pieces pieces I don't normally do.