Red Stoneware Clay For An Aged Look?

I would like to hand build coil plant pots which have an aged darkened terracotta look about them. I don't have my own kiln and have been using a white stoneware clay provided by the pottery club I'm with so have been limited to what they use.

Iron oxide was sponged on to the White bisque stoneware pot in my first attempt to give it some sort of faux aged appearance when fired but this was not too successful,as the stoneware colour was still visible My question is : Would a red stoneware clay be a good starting point in achieving the look I'm after?

I am only new to ceramics so would appreciate all the advice you can share. Thank you 🙂

Yes stained red clay will help age the pottery vessels as in my gallery,

but for what you're trying to do, I would look into mixing a red pigment

into Hypertufa containers. They're cast planters for the out doors and

no kiln is involved!! :)

Alabama

Hi Judy,

I think you will find many answers here on the PC. But also look in the CAD archives. Alabama has a good idea for non fired pottery. Casting offers a few options to consider for the type of planters you want to make. You can also try casting cement. Cements stains are available from Stores like Home Depot or Lowe's.  But you can also try sculpture suppliers, like, http://www.sculpt.com/. They have many casting supplies.

If you want to work with clay, you can find some low cost, used, kilns by searching the big wide web, or ask around to see if anyone knows of anyone selling one. My first kiln, I still have it, is a Paragon A82B. Small, but really good for small loads and less electricity. And they are fairly easy to repair. I paid $175., from a friend that had it in storage. But also remember, kilns, even this small, require a higher voltage, so you will need to install a proper outlet. Best to consult an electrician on this.

Best wishes and success.

From his website --