In Search Of A Great Transparent Glaze

Fredrin

Hello all,

This is my first post here, though I have been stalking these forums for a while!

To briefly introduce myself, I have recently started out as a studio potter in Walthamstow, East London (home to William Morris and birthplace of the Arts and Crafts movement way back when).

I studied ceramics from 13-18, developing a love for the smoke and drama of Raku and rediscovered the joy of clay just over a year ago - been an addict ever since  ;)

I'm lucky enough to work with a talented illustrator who puts underglaze designs on some of my porcelain and white stoneware pieces, but I have rather been letting the side down lately by covering her lovely drawings in a rather funky looking transparent (a pre-mix from the local supplier).

The effect I'm going for is a perfectly transparent with a very high gloss, but what I'm getting is a milky glaze with a bizarre crinkly textured surface that is neither matt nor shiny!

Here's what it looks like:

post-78878-0-82562400-1470825155_thumb.jpg

post-78878-0-97003600-1470825167_thumb.jpg

I've fired to cone 6,7 and 8 with varying thicknesses and keep getting similar results.

Please can you lovely people recommend a recipe that produces a high sheen and will really bring out an underglaze design on a porcelain/stoneware body.

Many thanks! :)

post-78878-0-82562400-1470825155_thumb.jpg

post-78878-0-97003600-1470825167_thumb.jpg

Wayne Bates Clear cone 6 from PMI

F-4 Feldspar 35

Gerstley Borate 23

Whiting   8

Strontium   8

EPK   8

Flint 18

OR USE THIS WITHOUT THE COLORANTS
Selsor Faux Celedon ^6 Oxidation

Whiting 18.5

Neph Syen 25.8

EPK 18.8

Silica 31.1

Gerstley B 4.6

Copper carb 0.3

Mason #6600 Black 0.02

Link

http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/gallery/image/3541-cone-6-faux-celedon/