Good day to you my friends.

I love it! Chilly, one of our forum members, wanted to reply to a question of another member (regarding a glazing issue) and thought "hey, that could be a good QOTW"! Thank you Chilly for sending the question to me and for being my guest for this week!

That's what Chilly sent me:

Pottery seems to be an art/craft where newbies have expectations greater than their starting skills.

When we first learn to write, we don't expect to produce a best-selling novel;
When learning to ride a horse or bike, we don't expect to take part in the Olympics the same year; Our first time at baking doesn't produce a three-tier wedding cake;

Why are expectations different for pottery?

Have a great week everybody!

Evelyne and Chilly

maybe because the finished item that inspired the question of how to make it is so spectacular.  the total newbie does not know that the technique it took to make that item is truly difficult even for an experienced potter.  and so the innocent loaded question that really cannot be answered.

we see the olympic ice skater execute perfect moves and that makes a child want to be a skater.  that child wants to do that fabulous spin but does not know the work it took to get there.  same principle.

I think for whatever reason now in many endeavors people feel they can just do whatever without the training. For example say climb Mount Everest. No training required where 30 years ago one would climb all the tall mountains first for training then attempt Everest-now they attempt with almost no training just money and a guide.

This is also true in scuba classes these days. You used to learn to swim and then hone water skills before leaning to dive now folks sign up who cannot swim.

Its a trend and its covers many many things-ceramics is just one aspect of this new world.