Decorating Fine Relief

Hi.

I have been trying a new technique for laser cutting stamps and molds.  The stamps and molds work quite well and come out nice and sharp. I can get extremely fine detail of the most complex picture onto the clay  but this is where I get stuck, what do I do next? What's the best way to decorate without swamping the detail. Some pics attached to show what I mean, I'm sure there are correct technical terms

When I say I'm a newbie,  I mean half a dozen night classes.

Any tips gratefully accepted

Thanks in advance

Darran

post-76862-0-66697200-1468328977_thumb.jpg

post-76862-0-66697200-1468328977_thumb.jpg

Do you mean so you can still see the detail in the clay?  If that is the question, you can use a clear or transparent glaze over it.  Or highlight the stamped area with underglaze or stain and then put a clear glaze over it.  Or you can put stain/underglaze on the stamped design and wax over the design. Then glaze the rest of your piece.  Just some ideas.

Roberta

I agree with Roberta.  A stain is probably your best bet at  highlighting the detail(s) of the impression, without the worry of them being covered.

So get some oxides or Mason stains, mix with water, and a  bit of frit, and brush on/ sponge the excess off post-bisque.

You could also use glaze or underglaze to do the same basic thing.  But to keep the details, I'd recommend applying any of them, after the bisque firing.  Otherwise, you could lose the crisp, detailed edges when sponging off the excess colorant.

I have used combinations of the following when I want to show the details of the fired surface: NB my work is fired to cone 10 in a gas kiln usually with some reduction. Some limited positive experience at cone 5 and cone 3 also in gas kiln.

1. Rub colorant oxides into the surface either at green ware  or bisque ware stage.  The difference is subtle but real. The idea is to leave traces of oxide colorant in the depressions only.