Qotw: Would You Laugh At Me If I Told You That I Am Using A Gg?

I remember, years ago, when other potters were here on the forum, that a few started to laugh at people who were using technical devices or, heaven forbid; a splashpan. I use a splashpan, otherwise I'd have to paint my studio every time after throwing.... And a month ago I bought myself the best technical device ever (well, not ever maybe): a GG! (sorry but I may not make advertisement here, but I guess you get what I mean). I make uneven chawan (remember: beauty lies in imperfection) and can't center them satisfactorily on my wheel. So GG is helping me now! In addition I can use it for carving my bi-discs in centering them on the GG and let the wheel spin very slowly, and then carve and use the movement! Very handy for lots of my ideas.

How about you? Are you using technical or other devices you know some people would laugh at you if they know?

Evelyne

I have been using a Griffin Grip now since a few years after they came out. I thought they might help some of my students with their trimming.  After getting it, I realized that it was so good that they would never learn how to trim without one, so required them to trim at least 5 of their pots by hand before getting their grubby fingers on the GG. I have used it over the years to trim plates, bowls, mugs, trim and assemble chalices, It has so many uses in the studio, that I really can't name them all. It will not do everything, as I make some bowls that are larger than the diameter of the GG, and large jars and such are best trimmed in a chuck to keep the shoulder from collapsing on the neck. However, I would be much slower doing things the old way as I am using the GG.

best,

Pres