How Do You Price Your Work?

I'm back into this pottery gig (6 years running in development) after a 25 year or so hiatus. Yeah, I got a day job <_< .

It's not like I'm a beginner or a hobbyist. I made a living and put myself through university making and selling pottery.

But, way back then we sold what we could for what we could get, considering the going prices in that day, which appear to be quite inflated from what I've read here at C.A.

I realize there are different levels of talent and success.

Full time artist

Teacher/artist

Production potter/festival goer

Hobbyist

Etc.

I had my first Studio Sale last fall, actually did quite well for a small-ish town (Acton, CA).

Advertised in the local country journal, had a two page interview two weeks before the ad came out, flyers, word of mouth got around,etc.

A good occasion for exposure...but I digress...

I'm curious how professionals and hobbyists alike approach pricing their work.

By the pound?

By the hour?

Aesthetics?

Success of the individual piece?

Your notoriety?

IMG_5210-XL.jpg

what you can get. I know that sounds snarky but its so true. At some shows $50 mugs move and others its a challenge to get $20. I would suggest visiting the types of shows you will be doing and see what seems to be the norm. Try to find out if they have been doing that show for a while because if they have their current prices probably reflect what they have figured out along these lines.

Assuming of course you and they make nice pots.

Yes Mea, I have reviewed some of your blog.

You get good prices for your work.

I like your approach with the minimal amount of and standardized glazes.

Very organized, and that's one approach.

Until I do this full time, I'll probably do a couple studio sales a year and gradually get back into doing select festivals.

BTW, great idea with the throwing gauge!

None of these are what I sue

By the pound?

By the hour?

Aesthetics?

Success of the individual piece?

Your notoriety?