Startup Cost

I'm wondering if anyone has a conservative estimate on initial costs to start a small home based business. I'm looking as a basic setup: Wheel, Kiln, Glazes, studio supply etc. Thanks! 

Hi Zach... I am a newbie here, and still new in the pottery world (this is my third year selling my pieces full time) I am in the process of setting up a new studio for myself and just put in my order for new equipment, here's what my costs were...(estimates, I don't have numbers in front of me) Skutt kiln (w/shelves and posts) $4,200, ventilation for kiln $600, wheel $1,200, slab roller $800. Someone else might be able to give you a better idea on glazing costs, but I just mixed up a rubbermaid bin of each of my four glazes and they cost around $100 each and will last me a couple months. If you aren't planning on making too much you could always just buy small containers of premixed glazes that would work just fine and they aren't very expensive...you could get a couple different colours for under $100. Basic tools aren't very expensive either, an intial $50 would get you the basics that you would need easily. You will want a couple tables and shelves for prepping your clay, and drying your pieces. Depending on whether you can find those used somewhere or have to buy new the price will vary obviously.

Now keep in mind you can buy used and get everything much cheaper...I bought my first small kiln used for $500 and my wheel for $250 and that worked fine for what I needed it to then. If you are only looking for the bare minimum you could get away with doing it pretty cheaply. I just thought since the costs were fresh in my mind still I'd share so you have an idea of the costs if you were thinking about buying new! I'm sure some of the more experienced members might be able to offer you better advice!