I've been using an L&L electric kiln for the last 10 years, and am considering purchasing a front loading downdraft gas kiln.  I'm interested in something in the order of 9 cubic feet, or perhaps a bit larger.  Olympic makes the model DD9.  Laguna makes the model LE-200-9 for about the same price, but is a little larger than the Olympic.  Bailey makes the model M-404-007 in a size that is between the two above, but you have to call to get a price quote.  The Laguna gas kilns look interesting in that you can get an electronic controller as an option.  The problem that I am having is that I cannot find any comparisons by users of these kilns.  However, I have found single blogs on each of these where users complain of poor quality, workmanship, can't get up to cone 10, uneven firing, poor customer support, etc.  So, it seems like its a crap shoot.  I really don't know whose kiln to buy.

Before you buy a gas kiln, check to make sure you can actually put one in your studio. The fire codes and venting requirements governing gas kilns are completely different than with electric kilns. Many municipalities consider it to be an industrial tool, so they have to be in a building zoned for that. Once you've selected a kiln, talk to your gas company to make sure you can get the necessary volume of gas to supply that model, and get quotes on running the gas lines or setting up a propane system. I spent about $8,000 back in 2004 getting my kiln plumbed and vented. It took 2 months to get the permits. When I moved my shop in 2008 it was going to cost $12,000 just for the gas line, and $6,000 to move the venting system to the new location. There were also so many issues with the fire codes that it just wasn't financially practical to stay with gas. That's when I switched to electric. I guess what I'm saying is do all your homework before you buy anything. The kiln itself is only part of the cost, and the easiest part of the purchase.