Hi, I'm a beginner potter who has quickly realized, taking a couple hours of lessons a week will yield a couple of pots but is not going to cut it for obtaining the skill of throwing on a wheel. My husband also wants to learn, but I'm "testing the waters" this summer while he's off thru hiking the Appalachian Trail( 2190 miles in 5 months). So I'm looking for a wheel to use at home. I'm more interested in quality and functionality than price. From looking at the want ads, seems I would have no trouble selling a quality wheel if this doesn't work out. Seems there are lots of options in the thousand dollar...ish or less price point that should suffice for home wheel. The challenge I'm finding is there doesn't seem to be a way of determining quality from looking at specs, and specs provided seem to differ not only across brands but across models within a brand. I'm hoping some folks on this blog may have experience with some of the wheels or be able to shed some light on confusing points.

I'm currently looking at three brands. Clayboss, Shimpo and Brent. I've been to a show room and seem them run, heard the motor noise at different speeds, etc., but couldn't get a sews to some of my questions. The lessons I've had were on a Shimpo Whisper and everyone has warned how loud the other brands were compared to the whisper. Frankly, none of them are loud in my opinion.

What I think is important to me....in no particular order.

-strong motor that won't tire or slow down if stressed with longevity. (I have no idea how to gauge this from specs. )

-low maintenance

- not too heavy. I'd also like to keep wheel weight under 100lbs so my husband and I can move to a warmer spot in winter months.

-reversing wheel head

- foot pedal with good control and response

- like the free spinning head feature for trimming or glazing, but could always use a banding wheel instead.