Pricing For Beginner's Piece

Hi everyone,

I have enjoyed perusing this rich forum and feel very grateful to find this community. I am a 30-something beginner pottery student at my local community college (there's a long story about how I got here).

My professor selected a few pieces for a student art show, including a vase I made using coil construction and experimenting with engobe/glaze/sgraffito.

The submission form asks me to list a price. I've never participated in a show, and I have no idea how to price my work. I've browsed a few of the other posts on this forum, but the ones I've read don't seem to apply 100% to a beginner. Does anyone have advice on how a beginner should go about pricing for a show? Should I just list "Not for sale?"

On one hand, I'm a little shy about putting any "price" on my vase at all--while I do like how certain aspects of my vase turned out, it is, to me, beginner's work and I feel it's apparent when I look at my piece. I have deep respect for this craft and want to view my work with honest eyes.

On the other hand, there is something about my piece that appealed to my professor (and to others who commented on it) that maybe I don't see. Also, I do want to take part in this student show because I want to become more immersed in the local pottery/ceramics community. 

I hope my question is not too vague. If it is, please let me know. Any thoughts would be much appreciated! Thank you!

Perhaps price per pound by the wet weight of the clay used. I am reading "The Potter's Professional Handbook" by Steven Branfman. He tells a story about a potter who did this. The book was published in 1999 and the potter's price per pound was $22.00. If you don't know how much clay was used he suggests using 1.6 times the dry weight.

One aspect that might influence your decision would be ... Where do the profits from the sale of the work go?

If say, you get half and the school gets half then think of it as contributing to your school's future.