How To Get More Even Elec. Firings?

I would appreciate some suggestions from more experienced potters on this.

I have a new Scutt 1027 Kilnmaster, hope it is OK to mention brands. I haven't been able to adjust things to get it to have cones even from top to bottom. I am new to firing at home and working my way through this. So far, I have fired with all peeps in and gotton a full cone cooler on the top shelf, with resulting glazes under developed. I put the cones in the same place each time and leave 2" above and below the themocouple with shelves. I use the Corelite shelving.

Next firing I took out the top peep at the suggestion of the Skutt tec guy, got the same looking cones, but that time the bottom was a full cone cooler, like I flipped the temps from top to bottem. Skutt guy said to slow down the last climb, I had set it for 200* per hour to 2195 with a 10 minute hold. He said that was too fast to get even temps through out.

Last night I unloaded a kiln that I has increased the peak soak from 10 minutes to 15 minutes and with a slower, 125* climb to peak, which I set at 22200*. I kept the peeps all in. The cones look more consistent, but I didn't have a top shelf, the only shelf was at mid way, with a full shelf of tall slender pieces with tall handles, so not real dense at the top.

I should add, I don't have a vent, the kiln is outside of my studio in a covered shed. the breeze blows through. The Skutt rep says I won't get even without having peeps out, but when I took them out, nothing improved, only reversed the cool area from top to bottom.

Any advice or similar experiences, I would love to hear. Thanks in advance!

That is one of the challenges of electic kilns ... They cool quickly ... Top and bottom first.

The kiln vent helps keep the air circulating inside the kiln which helps keep temps even from top to bottom ...

Having air moving outside really won't help as much.