Whatever I Do - Clay Is Collapsing Help Please

I don´t know what happened - I made a break over 2 Weeks working with my wheel. AN this weekend was so horrable - nothing was perfekt. Whateber I did, the clay was runnig opu., I could´t centrate good enough, the clay was swinging, the thickness was not correct, I have thrown 8 kg up and away!! I´m sober...it is so baaad....

please, can anybody tell me, how long does it take to be a very good wheel-throwner....??? I do it 5 Months and at the first time it was fantastic, I learned quickly I had success but now.... I am just an bad bad beginner....so sad... :(:(:(

Its easier to learn how to throw and pull the clay if the clay is soft. Sometimes when throwing with stiff clay, you have to really apply lots of pressure at the base in order to get the clay to move, and forget to ease up on the pressure. Somewhere at the halfway point it gets too thin and the top half will tear off or collapse. Try softer clay, and some pictures will help as well. :)

Take care and good luck,

Alabama

Thank you very much. I always take clay with chamotte (do you call it so? In germany we do..) this clay is very smoothy. Maybe I give toomuch pressure onit. But the up-pulling of the clay ist not what I prefer.... maybe I find some videos here.

I think my problem is - one of it - take not enough water! I´ve seen in some videos that everyone takes so much water on it and me...hmm..much too less water...hehe...ok I hop I´m getting better.-

Yuu said " you couldn't concentrate enough" and there it is!

Weigh out a lot of little balls of clay and throw cylinders for the first 1/2 hr at the wheel each time you go. Concentrate on the points that you learn from your watching videos, then extend to what you want to make.

Wheel throwing skill ccmes with watchful practice.

Some days, as CHris says, it's just not a throwing day and you will be fighting everything. so do something else.