What To Do With All My Early Pieces?

Hi - I am fairly new to clay and love it.  I have been doing it for about a year now and am improving day by day. But I'm dying to know, experienced potters, what do I do with all of these early pots?!  My cabinets are full, I'm running out of friends to give them to, and frankly, they are wonky and lead heavy and I don't even want to keep them!  But throwing them away just seems wasteful.  Looking into the future, I know I will make hundreds more of these as I work to get better and better.  Suggestions?? What did you do with all of your early, crappy works? Thanks! - Anita

I recently visited a friend on the West Coast, one that I have known for a long time.  She served syrup in a crappy little pitcher I gave her 35 yrs ago when I first learned wheel throwing.  It was embarrassingly horrible, but she loves it and has been using it for 35 yrs.

(Gosh, to think if I had just kept throwing I might be really proficient today)

I know there are only so many friends and relatives to give stuff to....

Oh, and I found a new purpose for seconds.  I smash them into pieces and surround the root balls with a layer of the shards when I'm planting a new plant .  It keeps the voles from eating the roots.   That only works if you have a vole problem....which I do.

I love my hammer. Get in there and smash away! It's a good idea to put them in a cardboard box and then break your pieces. Do this when no one else is around because the sound of breaking pottery is a little unnerving. Don't let anyone grab stuff out of the garbage. Smash em small enough so that they are completely unusable.

I think I shall go out to the studio with my hammer right! now!

p.s. It's always a good idea to cull your work before it goes through the glaze fire. That crack on the bottom / rim,or wherever is not going to get smaller.Don't waste energy on it.

TJR.

Yeah, I agree.  Hammer.  But keep a couple early pieces, so you can see how far you've come.