Looking At Used Wheels

Jstock673

I'm currently in the market to purchase a second hand potters wheel. I've been looking on Craigslist daily and finally today came across something that I would consider buying. It is a BRENT C Model and looked to be in good condition. They are asking 750 OBO for it... how does that sound? This is my first time attempting to buy something like this second hand so I'm a little clueless. Is it worth spending that much money on something like this or should I just go ahead and spend the extra bucks to get what I really want, which is a SKUTT wheel? 

BTW I do like Brent. They are what I learned on. I've just heard a lot of people raving about how good the Skutts are, and I just want the best.

The advice will help me... Thanks in advance.

It's half price... If its in good condition, I'd take half price.

The TS wheels are super sweet looking, but I would take half price.

I would take half price until you get your first 6 figure check from making pottery.

and yes, Craig's list is a place to barter, with cash in hand, I probably would kick the tires and offer a few bucks less for the Brent.

Skutt/TS and Brent are on the same level of quality as far as throwing goes from what people have stated on these forums. The TS just has some different things than the Brent does. Mainly the larger splash pan if you go for that model. I have threw off both wheels when I took my first class. I didn't notice any difference. I throw off a TS because I like my large splash pan that I clean like once a week. I don't have running water in my garage so I like to just do it on the nicest day of the week. I open my garage and clean my studio. If I had a brent I would do a lot more cleaning because my splash pan couldn't hold all the trimmings I do every day. I probably have 5-6 lbs of trimmings in my TS right now. Along with my bucket and other stuff sitting in the pan.