I have a secret!

Guest HerbNorris

Well, I learned from other potters who took the time to teach ... Thank goodness they did!

I teach workshops in coloring clay and my motto is that if I know the answer I will tell you. If I have a technique I will demo it. if I can help, I will.

Students are always emailing follow up questions and I answer as well as I can. Coloring clay is not as easy as it looks.

Let's face it ... I've been doing this for almost 25 years ... If I teach it and you can catch up with me before I've progressed to another level, then I am in the wrong business anyhow!.

Now for the other side of the coin.

If a potter works for ten years on a glaze combo that they finally get to fabulousness and it puts steady money in the Bank and food on the table ... And someone else feels they have the right to ask for the recipe and the timing ... Heck NO. I think they could give them the base glazes they started with and tell them to start working on it.

A lot of potters just want the answer ... Just tell me so I can do it ... But this never works out anyhow. Unless you put in the time, learn from your mistakes, learn from your kiln and your glazes ... You will never get the results anyhow ... even if they gave you all the info.

Guest HerbNorris

Welcome back, Marcia, I noticed you haven't been around lately.

I agree, most people share, and I thought of folks on this forum who share, like you, and John Baymore, Chris, Lucille, and others, who DO share, at least as much as you can on a word based medium like this forum. It's a tremendous resource, and the sharing philosophy is something I guess I sometimes take for granted, and am reminded every so often that it may not be universal.