Cleaning Up Bisque For Glazing

Hi everyone

I've just started doing pottery after a very long break and I was delighted to find this group - I was a beginner before so I'm back on the learning curve again!

When I got my small hobby kiln and other boxes out of storage I found some bisque jugs from around 10 years ago which have never been decorated or glazed - they just had their initial firing. They are covered in dust/cobwebs and I'm wondering what is the best way to clean them up so that I can decorate them.

Is it just a case of washing with plain water or is there a better option?

Thanks for any advice. 

Hi Julia! And welcome to the forums! You've found an amazing treasure trove of information, knowledge and great people who are willing and able to help you with whatever problems, dilemmas or crisis you may have!

As to cleaning up the bisque ware, I'd go at them with just a damp cloth. Might help to take them outside and blow the worst of the dust and cobwebs off of them first, however. If you're planning on glazing/decorating them any time soon, it's best not to get them too wet. So, "washing" them is out of the picture, as this might cause problems with adhesion of the glaze to the bisque. ;)

After 10 years, I hope you can remember what cone they were fired at, what type of clay body you used and what glazes were considered a good "fit" to the wares. Good luck and let us know how you fare. And again, WELCOME to the forums! :wub:

Hi Amy

Many thanks for the very warm welcome!  :)

The damp cloth makes sense, I'll give that a go. I have four of them so I can trial one and see how well it cleans up.

I must admit that I have no idea what clay the jugs were made from, firing temperatures, etc. They were made from some commercial slip using a mould, that is as much as I can remember about them. Was a bit of a surprise to even find them in the box!