Wheel Throwing Progress

This picture makes me so happy that I wanted to share it. 

I started learning to throw last October. It was a very, very bumpy road and I didn't start having things to keep until mid-February. I almost gave up. To be honest, I did give up, for weeks at a time, but fortunately kept going back to it. 

The pitcher on the left is one of my very first "keepers", a little mug that I knocked against and decided to turn into a cream pitcher. It's one of my first attached handles, beginner slip trailing, the whole nine yards. 

The pitcher on the right was made about six months later. It's a pitcher because that's what I decided to make, not a mistake. I deliberately decorated and glazed it similar to the other one because I wanted to see them side by side like this. 

In every aspect of these two pieces, from the throwing, to trimming, the handles, decoration and even the glazing, I can see how much I've learned in less than a year. I can't wait to see what happens in another year! Maybe I'll be making pots that levitate or are invisible or something. Who knows. ;) 

med_gallery_67168_947_1886040.jpg

So now I'm feeling like a total failure.  Both you and ronfire seem to have taken a few months to achieve what took me several years.  Granted, much of that time included only once a week classes.  Ah well, we all struggle at our own pace.

I think you should be extremely proud of your progress.  Well done!

Well done Giselle.

So now I'm feeling like a total failure.  Both you and ronfire seem to have taken a few months to achieve what took me several years.  Granted, much of that time included only once a week classes.  Ah well, we all struggle at our own pace.

Doris - It's taken me several years, and I still can't throw properly.  Like you, the once a week is a struggle.  Keep at it, one day we'll both be as good as Giselle.

Well done Giselle.