Cut, Spiral Bit Warped In Kiln

Hello everyone.

I'm new to this forum - read many interesting posts and gained a lot of tips from many of you. Really nice to know there's a place to reference things, and hopefully get some help now and again.

I'm also quite new to pottery. I have a wheel and kiln, and I make stuff purely for the therapeutic affect.

Anyway, back to the topic that I need help with.

I started making yarn/wool holders: basically a pot with a spiral cut out, with some holes (have attached pics). I used professional white stoneware clay, with a cone 6 glaze. When I bisque fired them, I noticed that some of the spiral bits warped. So when I bisque fired the second lot, I left clay support bits in-between the spiral area to stop it from warping. This method worked - I just needed to grind those bits away before applying glaze (as illustrated in pic). 

But sadly, after the glaze firing, all the spirals warped/collapsed. Does anybody know why? I thought that after the pots were bisque fired, they wouldn't warp again?

Am I using the wrong clay? Or should the pots be higher with a narrower cut spiral section?

Any input will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you. 

post-72816-0-65664000-1447945915_thumb.jpg

post-72816-0-64615500-1447945917_thumb.jpg

post-72816-0-65969700-1447945919_thumb.jpg

post-72816-0-42902800-1447945921_thumb.jpg

post-72816-0-31167000-1447945992_thumb.jpg

post-72816-0-90487800-1447945993_thumb.jpg

post-72816-0-65664000-1447945915_thumb.jpg

post-72816-0-64615500-1447945917_thumb.jpg

post-72816-0-65969700-1447945919_thumb.jpg

post-72816-0-42902800-1447945921_thumb.jpg

post-72816-0-31167000-1447945992_thumb.jpg

post-72816-0-90487800-1447945993_thumb.jpg

Hi, and welcome to the forums.