Porcelain Pigment And Pine Oil - Help!

gmburns

I'm new to painting on ceramic tiles, and I was wondering if someone could help.

I recently learned how to paint on white matte tiles (ceramic / porcelain - paint cures at 780 Celsius = 1436 F). I live in Brasil, but I'm moving back to the US in the next few months. I can find the products here, but I can't seem to find them in the US. The person who taught me doesn't speak enough English to know the English terms for Google purposes.

I'm looking for two things:

1) powdered pigment colors - the guy who taught me buys from this store (it's in Portuguese) and the word they use is "esmalta". Google translate says this is enamel, but I'm not sure that's completely correct. I've found powdered enamel, but not for the temp that I need. Does anyone work with this? Can you give me some google terms to use? Or even a website that sells specifically for this temp?

2) The other thing he uses to get the paint to stick to the tile is "veiculo oleoso (pinho)" which I assume translates into pine oil medium. I know this exists, but I again, I can't find it anywhere on any art supply sites. Any help here as well? The product looks like this (again in Portuguese)

This guy buys from these stores, but also buys direct from the various porcelain factories in the area, too. Apparently it's pretty easy to find here in Brasil.

Anyway, any direction would be great. Thanks.

The technique you are describing is called China painting. It is a very low temperature technique where you apply colour to an already glazed tile. The Chinese would apply red enamel to their already fired blue and white porcelain pottery.

Ask your supplier about china painting.

TJR.

Great thank you. Is this also called "smalt" in some way? I came across a company that sells this stuff and in their file they use that word, which of course is similar to the "esmalte" word in Portuguese. Just wondering if there's a difference between that and China Paint.