Hi!

First of all, I am very very new to ceramics. Nearly not startet (only made a wall piece for myself), but I have plans to learn and make it my profession. I do know quite a lot of theory by now since I have been crawling Youtube almost non-stop lately.

I want to try to make sculptures. So the question is: Is it possible to use wood instead of metal as a frame/skeleton for a ceramic sculpture?

I ask because I do not know and can not find out what will happen to wood during firing. Will it expand and crack the piece? That is what I am worried about, you see. If it expands, is it something I can do with the wood to prevent that?

I do not have a kiln, so I will fire using alternative methods like pit-fire or saggar or barrel firing, or everything at once. I may use saggars in a pit fire in a barrel, and use charcoal to get the temperature going. I guess that will be how I will fire the pieces. I am totally in love with the surface decoration that is possible to achieve with saggar or pit-fire. 

I use homemade paperclay. I live in rural Norway (Scandinavia), and here it is impossible to get a variety of clays. Well, it is possible, but the freight cost will be so high, so I really have only two options: Red clay or blue clay. I know it is not called blue clay in the US, but I don't know what you call it. It is blueish grey and fires to a pale yellow. It is a low-fire marine clay, and it is said to be very good for throwing (because it is so plastic). That clay will crack easily, so I hope I can prevent cracking in a non-controllable firing like pit-fire, by use large amounts of paper pulp in the clay. I have not fired a single piece yet, so I really don't know if that is the case. It will be too expensive to buy a raku clay from Oslo and get it shipped up north to the arctics where I live.