Mayco Cone 5-6 Glazes Unreliable

I am supposed to go to a birthday party for a friend this week.   So I made 6 stoneware coffee mugs to glaze and give as a gift.

I had stupidly bought 5 blue and 1 blue/green Mayco Cone 5-6 glazes.   So I glazed the cups, put them in the kiln with pyrometric cones for cone 6.   Set my brand new Scutt kiln to cone 6, which I've used many ties before.   I know what I'm doing.   I've been doing pottery and ceramics for 12 years.

Five of the cups came out looking like mud, not blue.  The Sapphire one wasn't sapphire blue.   They all look like ######.

My conclusion:   Mayco Cone 5-6 glazes are not "reliable" as advertised by their manufacturer.   If you haven't already wasted your money on Mayco Cone 5-6 glazes, don't waste your money on them.  If you have already wasted your money on Mayco Cone 5-6 glazes, don't use them on anything important because they are UNRELIABLE.

Much better to mix one's own glazes using tried and true formulas.

Please don't bother posting helpful comments or asking me simplistic questions.   I just want readers of this forum to know to ignore Mayco's self-promotional b.s.

I've never used Mayco glazes.

I have had some less than stellar results with commercial glazes, but those are few and far between.

The makers do a whole lot of testing to ensure a good, consistent product. By doing so, they keep customers happy and stay in business.

Because of this, I would probably trust a commercial glaze more than one I made. I simply don't have the time and resources to test and retest it as much as they do.

Also, any of the aforementioned less than stellar results, were probably due to an error of my own. They just didn't fit into my standard firing schedule along with my usual suspects.