What Clay To Use For Mold Making

I've finally gotten to the point where I like the look of some characters I've created (round little fun animals) and I'd like to try making a mold of them for slip casting.  I'm a little lost as to how to go about it.  Do I use a different type of clay that doesn't harden to sculpt and then create the mold with plaster? or use regular clay and let it dry (or even fire it??) then create the mold.  I'd prefer to avoid firing the piece so that I don't have to worry about keeping it hollow and can just concentrate on the design.  any advice would be appreciated! or links to tutorials.  I've been searching but haven't found the right one.   The attached picture is an early design but gives you an idea, I assume i'll have to modify for molding to avoid undercuts.

post-66966-0-62816500-1443800976_thumb.jpg

post-66966-0-62816500-1443800976_thumb.jpg

I am not a molding expert, but when you have a form this complex you will be looking at multi part molds. For that to work well you will need some expert help. Look at the top left of this page and click on Ceramic Arts Daily ... Scroll to the bottom and you will find a link there to mold making tutorials.

I prefer and would sculpt with #2 Medium Roma Plastilina or Chavant Clay.  Roma has Sulfur Chavant can be purchased without sulfur. For a plaster mold sulfur will not matter, but if you ever make a mold with silicone it will. I find the Roma type clays are easier to use and I end up with a better sculpture.

I sulpt with Roma and use the water based clay durring mold making for part lines. Water based clay removes from the Roma clay sculpture easier.