Making Porcelain Food Safe

suziewyllie

HI there wise wizards of the ceramic world!

I am so grateful for this discussion group. I have very little experience and am learning as i go so find this resource so valuable. Thanks in advance for your advice and guidance. 

I am working with southern ice to make accessories (beads and pendants) as well as small to medium sized homewares (small dishes, bowls, spoons, plates etc) 

So far i have been working with cobalt oxide of the dry porcelain and then firing to stoneware temps. I'm enjoying the raw matte finish but am wondering what i need to do to make the homeware items functional and safe for food? I have purchased a clear satin glaze but am wanting to work with a one firing system if possible, as i live an hour and a half from my community firing service.

So thats the back story....

the question is:

is porcelain hand painted in cobalt oxide and fired to stoneware temps safe for food and drinks? or do i need to seal with a clear glaze?

I am also aware that items might stain easier if not glazed? My main concern is for a small collection of tea strainers that i am wanting to make.

Is it possible to use oxide and clear glaze and avoid bisque firing and go straight to stoneware?

Any advice would be so helpful.

I really appreciate your time and apologise for the silly beginner questions!

Hi Suziewiyllie, welcome to the forum and pottery,

Here is the kind of short answer: anything toxic is hard to prove it had been made food safe. So your cobalt needs to be sealed, and more than likely the clear glaze would probably make it food safe, but w/o testing , know one knows.

So if one is a production potter wanting to use something iffy, maybe they would have the overgraze or colored glaze tested. But glazes are dependent on the environment of the kiln and the clay that they are on , so change anything and all bets are off. Also acids in food can weaken a glaze and make it suceptable to leaching.