Timbear3

Hi, I am new in this forum and I am here to learn from you guys. I started playing with terracotta clay and I love to work with it. I am trying to make a very thin (about 1/16") uniform rectangular sheets. They are about 5"x6". After I take out the air bubbles I cut with a fine steel wire the sheets and place them on a thick steel flat surface dressed with a very fine oil film. I cover them with an acrylic sheet with some weight on it to keep them flat (very important) for a few days. Then, when they are easy to handle I found first they are bent or curved up and cracked and I can't burn them that way. Please tell me what I am doing wrong if not all. Thanks.

post-70304-0-92797400-1440271136_thumb.gif

roll them with a rolling pin and two guide sticks that are your desire thickness. Do this on paper or fabric on sheet rock.Keep the edge of the sheet rock from shedding plaster by putting wide tape over the edge. After you cut it to the right shape, drop it on the floor or table just to jar it to set. Put under wraps to dry slow. You could put another piece of sheet rock on top to keep it flat. (tricks from Elizabeth Priddy) I do this for my small tiles and they stay flat.

Marcia

I agree with Marcia, roll out your clay to the desired thickness on top of a piece of canvas, lay a piece of drywall on top of the sheet, flip it over so it now lays on the drywall with canvas on top peel off the canvas. Drop the drywall and clay sheet on the floor to settle the clay. Trim it to the size desired without lifting or manipulating the clay in any way. Put another piece of drywall on top of the clay so that you now have a sandwich of drywall, clay, drywall. Put this somewhere out of the way and allow to dry, don't mess with it. Your sheets of clay should dry flat. The important thing is to never lift a flat sheet of clay once you have dropped it to settle or you will get warping in my experience.