Reusable Practice Clay For Transition Into Fired Ceramics?

andeedoo

Not sure if this is the proper forum to be asking, but I'm a newbie looking for recommendations on reusable or non hardening clay (always pliable) that I can practice making multiple forms with before I even worry about firing any finalized pieces. I don't wanna waste any material (and consequently money) so I'm hoping to start with maybe 5 pounds of modeling/sculpting clay that I can just break down whatever figure/form I've made and start over on something new. Like a step up from play doh I suppose, but hopefully something that mimics the handling characteristics of ceramic/pottery clay that will be fired into a finished product.

I've always been more into drawing/sketching and other flat forms of art, and recently have been thinking about trying sculpting/modeling, but I've never handled any type of clay, and I'm not sure where to start with there being so many choices. I also just wanna get a feel for whether I'm even capable of working in 3d without ordering a 50 pound block of something that's gonna dry up on me or be the wrong material entirely.

My ultimate goal is to make my own bonsai pots that also combine elements of figurine making and sculpture. For example, maybe a four legged animal form that has the potted area for the bonsai tree built into its back, or a wooden ship, a car, maybe even small landscape scenes. Anything that has the necessary space for a bonsai tree to sit in with drainage holes at the bottom that isn't just a traditional round or rectangular pot, if that makes sense.