Jump to content
  • Announcements

    • Jennifer Harnetty

      Moderators needed!   12/08/2017

      Ceramic Arts Network is looking for two new forum moderators for the Clay and Glaze Chemistry and Equipment Use and Repair sections of the Ceramic Arts Network Community Forum. We are looking for somebody who is an active participant (i.e. somebody who participates on a daily basis, or near daily) on the forum. Moderators must be willing to monitor the forum on a daily basis to remove spam, make sure members are adhering to the Forum Terms of Use, and make sure posts are in the appropriate categories. In addition to moderating their primary sections, Moderators must work as a team with other moderators to monitor the areas of the forum that do not have dedicated moderators (Educational Approaches and Resources, Aesthetic Approaches and Philosophy, etc.). Moderators must have a solid understanding of the area of the forum they are going to moderate (i.e. the Clay and Glaze Chemistry moderator must be somebody who mixes, tests, and has a decent understanding of materials). Moderators must be diplomatic communicators, be receptive to others’ ideas, and be able to see things from multiple perspectives. This is a volunteer position that comes with an honorary annual ICAN Gold membership. If you are interested, please send an email outlining your experience and qualifications to jharnetty@ceramics.org.

Chilly

Members
  • Content count

    1,250
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Chilly

  • Rank
    those who know, teach
  • Birthday March 24

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
    http://www.readypedalgo.co.uk/pottery.html

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Female
  • Location
    Langdon Hills, Essex, UK
  • Interests
    Pottery, gardening, cycling, Scouting, outdoors.

Recent Profile Visitors

9,428 profile views

About Me

I'm a (semi) retired ex IT Trainer.

 

I teach cycling to children and adults, and spend as much time out-doors as I can.  One day a week is spent at the local Scout campsite - planting trees, cutting the grass, pruning, picking wild damsons, apples and sloes, writing letters and funding applications begging for money.

 

I have two greenhouses, the larger is half pottery half plants, but the pottery is taking over and trying to grab more space.  I "pot" at a day centre for the over 50s one morning a week, and spend odd moments or whole days finishing, fine-tuning, glazing, just pottering at home.  I have a small electric kiln, which I only run if I can't get my stuff fired at the centre.  I use commercial clays and glazes, but have inherited a load of raw materials, and am gradually getting my head round what I can do with them.

 

I recently made two slip-casting moulds for mugs, one a drop-mould without a handle, the other a three-part mould for a complete mug with handle and foot-ring. 

 

I am struggling to master the wheel, I think I've finally got centering and coning, but cannot yet master lifting.  I think I'm trying too hard.

 

I've had 200 kiln bricks donated, and there are more if I want them, so am planning to build a kiln during the summer holidays at the Scout camp-site.  One of our volunteers is a gas plumber so I'm planning to get him to sort out the burners.  Going to run a couple of "play with clay" sessions for the district's leaders and volunteers before hand and then get them to kiln sit.

×

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.